I changed my diet and feel fantastic

Hey!

So a lot has changed since my last post in April.  I have found it really difficult to find a diet that suits me, and that I can keep up in the long-term. I’ve tried them all – Weight Watchers, Slimming World, Atkins etc and none have stuck and all make me feel worse than when I started. So I went and did some research… lots of research actually.  I’ve been looking specifically at foods and or lifestyles and their impact on our health. I’ve read medical reports, watched YouTube videos and read text books. It’s quite personal to me as I have lost people and watched others battle bad health and I don’t want to go through the same thing, or for my son to watch me go through it.

SO I CHANGED MY DIET
After much deliberation, on the 31st July I switched to a Vegan diet. This means I no longer eat meat, dairy or drink/ use milk in anything. I have to say after one month I feel fantastic. I feel more alert, lighter and I no longer get stomach pains or any digestive discomfort. And as a bonus I’ve lost nearly a stone in weight already. I am still finding my way with my new lifestyle, and I know it will take some time, but I know I’m doing whats right for me.

EATING OUT DILEMMA
Eating out has been difficult – most chain restaurants don’t really cater for Vegans, but I have emailed a few local places before I visit and they have seemed more than happy to accommodate me. I still feel really guilty when doing that though and even more so when my family have to do something different for me. It feels like I’m being awkward. In fairness it probably looks like I am, but I’m doing it for my health and wellbeing so I think I should get a pass! 🙂

THE VITAMIN AND MINERAL DEBATE
For those that like to panic about Vitamins and Minerals, please do your research before having a go at me. Also note that I do currently take Floradix, which is an Iron & B12 supplement.  I started taking it as a meat eater as I get anaemic quite often, and so I decided to stick with it for now, but I do plan to come off it once I have settled into this properly.

EXERCISE
So I havent really upped my exercise yet. Although saying that i do go for more walks now and am consciously driving my car less. Before I went on holiday last week I was walking everyday and even felt like running at one point. Given the lack of Vegan friendly food where I was, my diet suffered a little (although I stuck to Vegan) and my energy levels dipped, so I’m working my way back up to it.  But it goes to show that what you eat, or what I eat anyways has a huge impact on how I feel and my energy levels.

Anyhow, thats all I have for now.  I’ll keep you updated as to how I get on.  If you ahve any hints, tips or recipes, please let me know.

xxx

Leave a comment